Topics Map > Do-IT Yourself > Meeting Rooms
Topics Map > Do-IT Yourself > Account Management > Google
Topics Map > Do-IT Yourself > Account Management > Google Calendar

Google Calendar - Understanding Permissions

Understanding Calendar Permissions for Resource or User created Google Calendars

The combination of the user’s sharing permissions and the calendars auto-accept setting will determine the behavior of how an invitation is handled for a resource or user created calendar.

The sharing options (permissions) are setup by the calendar's owner, for other users with rights to the calendar. 

Here’s what people can do with each sharing option:

Make changes AND manage sharing

  • Change sharing settings
  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Permanently delete the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

NOTE: This permission level must be given to a calendar manager, for any Google Resource Calendars (rooms, spaces, etc)

Make changes to events

  • Add and edit events
  • See details for all events, including private ones
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar
  • Restore or permanently delete events from the calendar’s Trash

See all event details

  • See details for all events except those marked as private
  • See the time zone setting for the calendar

See free/busy information (no details)

  • See when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but not the names or other details of your events.


See Also:




Keywords:google, workspace, resource, calendar, permissions, administer   Doc ID:111873
Owner:Susan M.Group:Rice University
Created:2021-06-22 15:20 CDTUpdated:2021-09-01 10:27 CDT
Sites:Rice University
Feedback:  4   5