Google Drive - Move files from My Drive to Team Drives

Migrate existing Drive folders to Team Drives

Migrate Google My Drive content to a Team Drive

Migrate existing My Drive folders to a Team Drive

Considerations:

  • Do not move content between Team Drives and other folders or domains unless necessary since permission conflicts can occur.
  • You cannot move shared content  from another domain to My Drive. 
  • Moving files changes ownership to the Team Drive. 
  • Any content owned by someone in a different domain is not moved. The content remains in the original My Drive location. 
  • Migrating folders creates a copy of the folder structure in the destination Team Drive. Users should update any direct links to point to the new Team Drive folders.
  • Note: While permissions explicitly granted on individual files will be preserved, any permissions granted on (or inherited from) folders are not copied.
  • Moved files remain in the user's Shared with me and Recent locations.
  • Files are removed from any other Drive location (such as My Drive) when moved to a Team Drive.
  • If a super admin moves content to a Team Drive, any hidden files are also moved and visible to all Team Drive members. 
  • File permissions and links are not changed. People who are not Team Drive members can still access the file with previously granted permission.

Move individual files from My Drive to Team Drives:

Move entire folders from My Drive to Team Drives:


If you need further assistance please contact the Information Technology Help Desk at 713-348-4357 or email helpdesk@rice.edu