Piazza and Your Privacy

Details what to do if you are a new or existing Piazza user to protect your privacy.

You may have heard recently that Piazza has been selling student information to third parties. Many people agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policies without actually reading them carefully. Piazza claims to be FERPA compliant, however, the Terms and Conditions and Privacy policy seem to contradict that information.

 

When you sign up for a Piazza Q&A account, you are automatically “opted in” to Piazza Careers unless you uncheck the “sign me up” button located at the bottom of the page just above the check box for reading the terms and conditions. 


Uncheck that button to keep your information private. If you already have an account and you didn’t uncheck that button, then you have a Piazza Careers account as well.


If you already have a Piazza Careers account, you will need to adjust your settings in your profile. Go to your profile and click the lock button. The lock button is at the top, far right of the page.


Many options show up for who can view your profile and information. You can choose to have your information seen by only students in your network or by all students. If you select "Only students in my network," you are given the following choices: 

You also have the option, "No students can view my profile."

You also need to select options for which companies you want to see your profile, but you only have the option of allowing all companies to see your profile, or no companies to see your profile. 


Selecting "No students can view my profile" and "no companies can view my profile" will keep your information confidential.